Writing in Progress!

4 days until the deadline I’ve set myself for a new food article. I hope it’s finished before then…The weeks have sped by, filled with work and trying to catch up with friends. I miss the loose structure of university and being able to spend long hours outside.

I have little time to write this now, so instead I will leave you with the recipe for the wonderful birthday cake I had last week. It serves as a tasty reminder that I’m 22 now. Grown up and feeling as much like an adult as I possibly can (which isn’t very much). Either way, make this cake, it really is Death by Chocolate. I only used one pan and one cake tin and it was prepared and baked in under an hour!

Shirley also provides a recipe for a delicious glaze (which you can follow the link to) or, like I did, you can make a simple ganache with 4 oz of cream to 4 oz of good dark chocolate.

Ganache

  1. Heat up the cream in a small saucepan.
  2. Add chocolate and stir until melted.
  3. Allow to cool and then spread over the cooled cake.

Alas, I don’t have any pictures at the moment (the cake was gone too fast) but trust me. It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

